In Memoriam

Gabriella Martino

obits.gif

July 8. 1959 – January 12, 2005

5 Responses to “In Memoriam”

  1. Christy Says:

    To Mike McGrath, In 1989, you and Gabriella came to Peoria and met with our communications group at Caterpillar. I was so impressed by you both and later that year received a Christmas card from Gabriella. All these years, I’ve kept the card and had good intentions of seeing how Grafica Multimeda had fared. Now, today, I pulled the card out, quickly typed Gabriella Martino, and, sadly, I see by the posting, that Gabriella has passed and I am so sorry. There are few people that have such a joyful spirit and leave a lasting impression and Gabriella was one of those people. I hope your life and hers was one of joy. Kind regards, Christy Parr

  2. Mike McGrath Says:

    Thank you so much for your comment. I count myself as one of the lucky ones to have spent as much time as I had with her. Our oldest daughter is very much like her and I take great comfort in that. We miss her, of course but the passing of time helps. Again, thanks for your comment and your remarkable memory.

  3. Ruben Servi Says:

    Mike, I don’t know how I came across your post, these are the mysteries of the internet. I knew Gabriella from the Apple days when we worked together on Italian translations of Mac documentation. I ran a software localization company called IDOC and at one point Gabriella came to work for us perhaps for a year or two. She was extraordinarily bright, passionate and alive (and she could be very funny too!). It’s an incredible shock to find out that she passed away so young. I am so, so sorry for you and your girls. Kind regards, Ruben Servi

  4. Mike McGrath Says:

    Ruben…it’s been a long time. I remember you and the work that Gabri did for IDOC. Thank you so much for leaving a comment and reconnecting.

  5. Elizabeth Shannon Says:

    I am sorry to hear of Gabriella’s passing. I knew her at Apple. We worked in the same group – Gabriella, Diane Rhodes, and I. I had been trying to find her on the internet for some time, without success. Possibly because I couldn’t remember her last name…then I remembered she was quite serious about you, and I looked her up with your last name. She was a wonderful woman, and I will remember her always. I visited her in her apartment in SF and stayed over a couple of times. We had fun.
    It is very hard to lose a spouse. My husband of 30 years, Mike Shannon, passed away a little over a year ago. I will always miss him.

    Elizabeth Shannon


Leave a Reply

